Autumn Chill is Coming

Such is the human experience
Some people sit out here
Under Autumn’s first chill
With a blanket or sweater wrapped around them
And enjoy the delicious crisp air
And the smell of cold coming in
They’re in love with this time of year
Of spiced lattes and pumpkins on the horizon.
While others, like me
Are scared to walk out the door into the cold
Sad to see Summer waving goodbye
And numb at the thought of Winter coming.
Dread starts to set in
The Jewish New Year a few days away
And the cold nipping at my unclothed toes.
Change, for some, exhilarating
And others
Terrifying.
We are, all of us, human
With different experiences
And different emotions.
When Summer feels so fleeting
You can barely hold its hand
And Winter makes you want to hibernate
Spring and Fall barely making an appearance
I wrap myself in a sweater
And confront the cold
It’s 60 tonight, and dipping.
This time, Winter, I won’t let you take me.
I won’t let your frost drag me down into fear and icy dread
Of my skin wrapped in layers
And the dark that comes on suddenly,
And stretches on endlessly.
I’ll find a way to conquer you
With sunshine in my mind
Even as your icy talons reach out
And grab hold.

Leave a comment